So Many Updates (and no time to write)

I can’t even tell y’all how many rides I’ve had since I posted last. In short, I’ve tried to ride 4-5 times a week and other than on very rainy days, I’ve succeeded. I’ve managed to ride both Red and Stormie most days which has been a huge success and I’ve gotten a really good schedule down. My plans to ride more this week seem to be ruined by rain and sickness, but I should – fingers crossed – be back to riding by Friday. We’ll hope my arena dries. Right now everything is basically a huge swimming pool and there is more rain coming tomorrow. When I say rain, I mean DOWNPOUR, very severe weather so blah.

Red had been having some very…off rides. He’s been extra stubborn thanks to the nice spring-like weather we’ve been having, but he does this every year so I just pushed through. He through a couple bucks and a lot of crowhops the other day but I rode it out and then he proceeded to kick butt in the good way and was fabulous the next day, so woohoo.

 

Image may contain: horse, outdoor and nature
I promise I released a half a second later, I’m always cringy looking at some photos with this hack because of the longer shanks but they barely touch his face.

I think the biggest thing that has helped Red get in a better mood is that we’ve been doing more of this…

Image may contain: horse, sky, tree, outdoor and nature
We left the arena and didn’t die!!!

Which always makes his ears perk up.

Stormie is an angel as always. I’ve been messing around with some western pleasure work with her, just to see what she seems to gravitate towards and pick up the easiest.She has been incredible. I’ve worked on her jog twice and when I rode her yesterday she jogged like a total pro. I posted the videos on my Instagram (@kalincraig) if you want to see. Her canter is shaping up although I need to get her a bit better at cantering as soon as I ask for it.

Image may contain: horse, sky, outdoor and nature

Image may contain: one or more people, people riding on horses, horse, sky, outdoor and nature

Why am I not wearing a helmet? Because I’m stupid, that’s why. I acknowledge it.

That mare has so much potential and I couldn’t be more excited to unlock it.

Next on the list would be Ransom, who is doing better and better every day. He’s now letting me put his halter on without a fuss at all which is a HUGE success because that has been his biggest problem. He’s no longer spooking over tiny little things like the lead rope touching his side or me swinging it over his neck. I’ve just started putting lightweight things on his back – a saddle pad, my jacket, bareback pad..- and he’s doing okay. A little fidgety at first but really good. Best thing about him is he’s extremely eager to please so I don’t foresee any problems at all once he’s used to things. I give him two weeks and he’ll be perfect with the light weight on his back. On the next dry and warm day I plan on getting him up to the arena for the first time. I’m now able to pick up both front feet without a super big fuss. Back feet are still iffy, but we’ll get there.

Image may contain: horse, sky, outdoor and nature

He lets me go to him anytime in the pasture without running off which is great. He’s starting to get better with new people as well although he definitely does the best for me. Also, he’s looking REALLY hunky.

Image may contain: horse, sky, outdoor and nature
From today. Can you tell it rained?

Image may contain: horse, sky, outdoor and nature

A question I get a lot is how tall he is..I have yet to measure him accurately but this should show how large he is. I’m wondering if he’ll make 16.3-17hh.

Image may contain: 1 person, horse and outdoor

I’m still loving him more and more every day. Every time I ride, I keep thinking about how great it’ll be to hop on him for the first time. There’s definitely something special about him.

Image may contain: horse, outdoor and nature
Donkey poop. Donkey poop everywhere.

Overcoming. I am.

3 thoughts on “So Many Updates (and no time to write)

  1. Love this post!! Also, I can relate to being insanely busy!

    As a sidenote, I just wanted to let you know I have changed my blog name, so it may not show up in your reader list anymore. The new url is www dot twoandahalfhorses dot blogspot dot com. You may have to re-enter it into your reader list to follow again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

