Overcoming.

Though the year started out meh because of nonstop rain, I’m having a good year so far. I’ve dedicated myself to the horses, made decisions about college, careers and what I’m going to do with my life in the next two years. I’ve decided to take a gap year, find a decent job and invest myself 100% in the horses, my animals in general, and finding out what makes me the happiest. What makes me feel fulfilled. Like life is worth living and my dreams are worth chasing. Ransom has been a ginormous blessing in my life, bigger than I pictured. He’s made me see how much I love problem solving. Colt starting. Working with horses in general. I’ve been able to get over a lot of fears and for the first time in two years, I’m looking forward to continuing on and whenever I leave the barn, I leave happy. When I go, I’m not stressed, or scared, I’m looking forward to seeing my colt in the pasture, to working with him and the other horses. I’m excited for summer and more projects and spending long nights at the barn riding in my newly lit up arena.

Image may contain: horse, sky and outdoor

I want to do this. I want this to be my life. Horses have always been one of the biggest parts of my life and I’ve gone to them on the hardest of days. I’ve gone to horses on their hardest days. I go to auctions and I see thousands of horses ready to go to slaughter for no good reason, and I want this to be my life. I want to offer them hope because that is what they’ve given me. On the days that I don’t want to get out of bed, or when I’m depressed or on the brink of a panic attack, I go to the barn.

Image may contain: horse and outdoor

Do I want to make a name in the horse world? Honestly, no. I just want to keep helping horses. I don’t care if I never make it to the NFR or to some amazing show as long as I’m helping horses. Problem solving, rehabilitating, that’s where my heart is. So I’m dedicating this year to that. I’m going to work hard, find a trainer that will allow me to work under them, to watch, learn and experience. Regardless of what people think of this, this is what I want to do with my life. I refuse to let my fears to continue to rule my life, I want to overcome them.

Image may contain: 1 person, standing, horse and outdoor

 

Maybe I’ll fail. Maybe I’ll fall. Maybe I’ll get in way over my head…but I’ll be chasing after who I am, and what I believe my heart is called towards. We’ll see how it goes.

Image may contain: 1 person, horse, tree and outdoor

I know that watching my colt go from wild to following me in the pasture in two months has been one of the most incredible experiences of my life. That every time we make another step forward in training, I feel more fulfilled than ever. I know that learning from Red has been something that has taught me in every area of my life, even outside of horses. That Shalom still effects my life, that even Zippy taught me a lot about horses and how we can’t judge a book by it’s cover. That it’s okay to give up at times, and ask for help.

Image may contain: horse, sky, outdoor and nature

I’m tired of waiting for my confidence to magically come back, so I’m pushing myself. With or without confidence, I ride, and I can feel it come back gradually every time I step into the stirrups or hop on bareback. I’m riding different horses, I’m working with Ransom. Before long, I’ll be back into regular lessons whenever I can afford it. Whatever helps, whatever gets me closer to the life I want to live.

 

3 thoughts on “Overcoming.”

  1. I’m sooo proud of you! And I think you are doing an amazing job with Random! I’ve loved getting to watch your progress. You are a HUGE inspiration to me! And I love love love reading your blog (so don’t give it up)! It’s so amazing what you want to dedicate your life to!!! And just so you know if you ever have tips on colt starting you want to share feel free. I’d love to know your opinion on how I’m doing with Ranger. 😁

    Like

      1. You’re welcome! Unfortunately I don’t… 😞 But hopefully in the future. I really wish I did though.

        Like

Leave a Reply

