Bareback, Babies & Baby Steps.

First “big” news, Ransom got to wear a halter for the first time on Monday and also let me lead him fairly well. He popped up once from the pressure and confusion, then did really well. I didn’t do much with him yesterday other than some grooming and whatnot, but today the halter will go back on and we’ll work with leading again. I continue to be very impressed with his little baby horse mind. I did spend some time with him yesterday messing with his legs and feet and he did really well with it.

Image may contain: horse and outdoor

I also threw around a big, scary red frisbee and while it freaked the other horses out, he snorted once, sniffed it and was cool.

Image may contain: horse, outdoor and nature
He wont be sent for training until he’s about 3 and a half, but never too early to get used to weird things being on the back, right? 😉

Yesterday was mostly devoted to Red. He’s been a bit stiffer this winter from the cold weather, not bad but he needs to get out and move around more, so I gave him a good brush down, gave him his thrush medication (I’ve now been able to lower the dose of Tomorrow and I don’t have to use it as often, woohoo!) and did some massage type stuff that my chiro taught me. He sat and yawned and licked and then I hopped on him bareback for a nice little 25-30 minute ride. Warmed up at the walk and he wanted to pick up the trot and he was surprisingly very well behaved. We also did a bit of groundwork/hand walking beforehand and he did great for that too. It’s been a long time since I’ve done any sort of work other than a calm walk around bareback, so my legs are protesting today, lol. Did some trot circles and let him make some laps around the arena and he felt great.

Image may contain: sky, horse and outdoor

I was actually pretty impressed with my seat bareback too…I need to do more of it!

Image may contain: one or more people, people riding on horses, horse and outdoor

Image may contain: horse, sky, outdoor and nature

Planning on more work with Ransom today and some groundwork with Red, maybe another bareback ride if I get the

 

1 thought on “Bareback, Babies & Baby Steps.”

Leave a Reply

