Meet Ransom.

People have always said that horses are like potato chips, and you can’t only have one. I’ve argued with that before, but then I ended up with a ginormous yearling last night.

Backstory; I’ve been looking very casually for a weanling or yearling. My plan was to start them up on the ground, then at the age of 2 and a half or 3, rehome to someone good. I love doing groundwork and I think that it would be a great way to push me forward to learn more, and I’ve had a wonderful trainer offer to help me out in any ways that I need, so I’m not in this alone. (Along with my mother, who has started a lot of babies.) It’s been about a year, and my search has been very casual. I’ve looked at a few just from word of mouth, but on Saturday, I posted an ad saying that I was searching for something. My ideal was this-an early yearling, filly, preferably not a sorrel or bay because I wanted something different in my pasture. I preferred registered just because if my plan ended up as I figured it would, it would be a resell project and registered horses are easier to sell.

Then, I got a message.

More backstory, I had a man come out and haul Blossom the donkey for me and he ended up buying a jack from them. He stopped by his place first to drop his jack off, and offered to let me see his horses while we waited. He has Quarter/Draft horses, a cross that I never thought I’d like because I’m not a draft person, but these horses are amazing. The best minds, beautiful conformation. They’re gorgeous and big but still have a lot of the quarter horse traits. Beautiful fluid movement, nice pretty heads, and quarter horse feet. The dam of the colt that I got is half draft/half quarter, and she’s a red dun. The sire is supposedly the last son out of Bar Money, a very influential Quarter Horse stallion, son of Three Bars. I’ll see the papers next time I go out. This stud is beautiful and so, so sweet for an older stud. There are some great lines in this horse’s pedigree and also great minds. He said that he’s had several siblings/half siblings and he’s never had a buck or rear out of them when he starts them. He claims that he puts a couple rides on, and they might as well be considered broke because they’re that calm and docile. Several people that I respect back him up on this, and after meeting his sisters, dam and sire, I could definitely see the sweet personality. They’re all coming to greet you and very respectful of your space.

“Ransom Money” just turned a year and will-hopefully-be gelded then come right home. We’re trying to schedule a vet to come out and if one can’t come out in the next few days, we’ve got to go ahead and get him home because he’s going out of town in a week or so and doesn’t want to leave him behind doing nothing. His dam was 16.2-16.3 and sire is also quite tall. We measured his cannon bone to estimate growth and it says he should mature to around 16.1. He’s a very big yearling and needs to catch up with his height a bit, so he’s slightly underweight. The owner says that all of his bigger yearlings do that and when they hit about a year and a half-two years old, they get out of the awkward stage pretty quickly.

He has gorgeous leg bars and a dorsal stripe down his back, but he’s so disgusting and dirty from the recent rain and apparently, he likes rolling around, you can hardly see them. Also one white sock and I think a hint of white on his other leg around the coronet band, I’ll be able to tell more when I can clean him up.  Despite his size, his head is really cute and has a nice little dish, and he definitely inherited the cute little quarter horse ears. He’s had very little handling so not halter broke, although judging by his personality and how he warmed up to me in minutes, I doubt I’m going to have very much trouble.

So, as of now, I’m eager to get him home and get him settled in so I can start work! And I’m eager to groom him…yikes, that tail. And winter fluff. Omg.

Also…he has my favorite face markings, a star and snip. I have a type.

BB FACE

 

 

6 thoughts on “Meet Ransom.”

Leave a Reply

