Fairytale Pictures?!?

I had a friend that I’d actually met on Instagram (then later met at a couple barrel races.) come out to the barn yesterday. We’d been trying to plan something for awhile,  but we kept having scheduling conflict. Figures that one of the coldest days of the year so far would be the day we’d both have an evening free but…oh well. She’s a photographer and absolutely puts my photos to shame. Her name is Blakley Releford, so if you’re in the TN area, get in touch with her for photos. They’re stunning.

I tacked the Redhead up and hopped on, took him to the round pen to warm up a bit and get some photos in there. He had yesterday off and definitely felt a lot spunkier. It took me about 25 minutes to get that head lowered and have a really nice trot, but really, even the trot before that, although it wasn’t super nice and collected with his nice headset, was comfortable and nice enough. I just had to wear him out a bit and get the wigglies out. We walked for a few laps first as always then went to the trot and he probably trotted around it like 15 times without breaking a sweat. I did make him take a few walk breaks though, lol. It was freezing so I needed them more than he did (at a walk I can let go of the reins and shove my hands in my pockets, rofl.) In short, he was extremely well behaved, even through the hayfield which he used to be terrible in (hayfield equals galloping. WEEE.) even when I told him no cantering in there because the grass is still too long and I really didn’t want him to trip and fall. 😉 I won’t go into details of the ride, because the photos deserve a post for themselves.

(photo by: Blakley Releford, used with permission.) I was closing my hands over the reins to switch to open reining…rofl.
photo by: Blakley Releford, used with permission.
photo by: blakley releford, used with permission.

I will say this…I didn’t realize how much muscle Red has put on in the last few weeks, but his chest has thickened up like crazy (and there’s hardly any fat there, hard as a rock.) and now…his breast collars don’t fit. Too small. Poop, Red. Although I love muscly Quarters, so not complaining. 😉 His neck and butt are super hard too right now.

photo by: Blakley Releford, used with permission.
Photo by: Blakley Releford, used with permission.

My hands were kind of doing funky things, probably because I was literally frozen, but oh well, rofl. I’m getting really happy with my leg, it’s gotten a lot more still and quiet lately. Nice to see some improvement there!

Photo by: Blakley Releford, used with permission
photo by Blakley Releford, used with permission.

I will say that even his less than stellar trot yesterday was a lot better than it was a week ago. His head is lower just naturally not, not way up above the saddle horn. His poll is almost always below the horn, so he is gradually getting softer and using himself better by himself. Also, that neck and booty.

We took him in the hayfield before the sun set too much, and these photos..oh man. They look like they’re out of a fairytale to me. I’m in love, and I plan on getting a couple of these framed and at least one on a big canvas to hang up somewhere. I think they capture so much of our relationship and personalities. I love.

photo by: Blakley Releford, used with permission.
Photo by Blakley Releford, used with permission. Probably my favorite of the whole day! It’s tied between another one….
Photo by: Blakley Releford, used with permission.
Photo by: Blakley Releford, used with permission.
photo by: Blakley Releford, used with permission.
Photo by: Blakley Releford, used with permission.

And here is another favorite..he looks like he belongs on a magazine here for either the AQHA or a pleasure horse thing or something..because man.

photo by Blakley Releford, used with permission. (what is that face kalin)
Photo by: Blakley Releford, used with permission. Another favorite.
photo by: Blakley Releford, used with permission.

I debated with saving these for random posts here and there…and I’ll reuse these like crazy..but couldn’t wait to post! Y’all should go follow her Instagram and check out her Facebook page, both can be found @BlakleysCaptures. She also posts some kick butt Rolex photos and lots of other fun equine things. 🙂

Post coming up about Monday’s lesson and probably about today’s ride if I muster up the courage to ride in this cold.

12 thoughts on “Fairytale Pictures?!?”

  1. Love, love, love all the beautiful pictures! You two look wonderful. Now I want someone to come take pics of me and my horse. ; )

    Like

  2. Those pictures are gorgeous! You both look great! I can see the improvement in both you and Red! He’s really beginning to stretch in some of those pictures!

    Like

Leave a Reply

