Blog Hop!

Because what’s better than a blog hop? It’s currently storming (again, oh my gosh weather get it together) and all of my horses are good, so not much to write about. So, here’s a blog hop brought to us by That Red Mare.

Also…an excuse to post the photos I took this evening at the barn. Yay for fillers!

1. Mares or Geldings? Why?
Geldings. All the way. I love Jubilee and Stormie, but I would much rather have a gelding.

2. Green-broke or Fully Broke?
Fully broke, because of the place I’m at in my riding. I will say, I enjoy doing some training on my own but no super green horses for me. Red was greenish when I got him in the sense that he didn’t know how to do a ton of real work, and I’ve enjoyed working him through things and teaching him how to be a proper horse.

3. Would you own a “hotter” breed (ie. Arabian, Trakhener, etc).
Probably not. Those breeds aren’t really my breed of choice. I’m good with a bit of a hotter horse but I’d much rather have something with a good, solid mind.

literally the only mare I’ve been able to have without arguing nonstop with.

4. What was your “dream horse” growing up?
A fancy, big paint with blue eyes. Funny, because now I’m really not a Paint fan.

5. What kind of bit(s) do you use and why?
Jubilee is in an eggbutt snaffle and Red is in a Little S hack. Jubilee works well in pretty much any bit, and Red hates them as you all know. The Little S has,  by far, been the best purchase I’ve ever made. He works so well in it and it’s so mild.

6. Helmets or no helmets?
I’m going to sound hypocritical when I say this because I’m terrible over the helmet thing, and I keep intending to start wearing one but yes, I’m awful and forget. But, helmet. Save your head.

hotty with a wild mane.

7. Favorite horse color?
I love bays, sorrels and blacks. There’s something about a totally solid bay, black or sorrel horse that I love. Add on some great conformation and I’m sold.

8. Least favorite horse color?
I hate palomino’s for whatever reason. I’m not sure why, but the color just totally turns me off from a horse. I just don’t think it’s attractive. Although, there’s a stud called Jake Jacspin and holy cow, I’d deal with my dislike for the color to have him.

9. Dressage or Jumping?
I’ve never jumped but I have done some western dressage, and I love it. I also adore watching dressage. So, dancing ponies all the way.

10. How many years have you been riding?
Three years. 🙂

GET IN MY BARN. Just no chrome, please. (source)

11. Spurs/whip or no spurs/whip?
I don’t ride any of my horses with spurs or a whip. If i’m going on trails, I bring an over and under mostly just to have it (plus mine doubles as a lead rope which is super handy on trails) but I can’t remember the last time I had to use it.

12. Your first fall?
I slipped off of Red bareback awhile back after he crowhopped. It was the dumbest fall ever, and that’s been the only time I’ve fallen yet. I seem to have a fairly sticky butt.

13. When was the last time you rode and what did you do?
I rode Red..uh..totally can’t remember what day. But, we roped. Sadly it’s been way too rainy to ride since then. 😦

14. Most expensive piece of tack you own?
My roping saddle, for sure.

15. How old were you when you started riding?
I was 14. Late start for the majority of equestrians but better late than never!

16. Leather or Nylon halters?
Look wise, I prefer leather. For every day stuff, nylon. It’s easier to slip on a nylon halter to lead them around. I don’t turn out in halters so either way works well enough.

17. Leather or Synthetic saddles?
Leather. I have a strong dislike for synthetic for no other reason but I’m a tack snob and don’t like how it looks, ha.

I have no caption for this.

18. What “grip” of reins do you like?
I love cotton or rope reins. Not a fan of anything grippy. I don’t like leather reins that much unless they’re super soft.

19. English or Western?
I love watching english and will forever adore dressage, but I’m western all the way. My butt is not meant to be in an english saddle.

20. How many horses do you currently own/lease?
I own two –  Red and Jubilee are both mine.

even though she’s the most flippin high maintenance horse in the history of horses

21. Do you board your horse? Self-care/full board? Home board?
They’re at my families farm. So thankful I don’t have to board anymore!

22. Have you ever had to put down a horse that you loved?
Yes and it was one of the worst experiences of my life. That day was absolutely horrible and I wouldn’t wish it upon anyone. I’ve lost other animals, but losing Shalom was the hardest loss I’ve faced, animal wise. I was also there when two horses (at separate times) that I loved very much and were very close to were put down at my old barn where we boarded.

23. How many saddlepads do you have?
Ah geeze. 9+. And what’s sad, is I only use two of them. I need to sell some tack, ha.

 

24. Slant-load trailer or straight haul?
I’ve honestly never been involved much with the trailering to give an opinion. Whatever works and doesn’t break down. 😉

25. Why do you ride?
This is a super difficult question, because there are so many reasons for me. Riding goes against everything that my mind says. With anxiety like mine, I should despise the idea of riding. I should be freaked out and scared for my life every time I climb on a horse’s back, because everything else gives me that fear, but for whatever reason, that’s the place I feel the most at home. That’s the place that I’m at peace. I ride for different reasons. Some days, it’s to feel some peace and have quiet time with myself or with God, some days, it’s to feel the thrill of running across a field with an animal that could kill me at any second, some days, it’s to be genuinely happy when nothing else can make me feel that way. It’s an escape from life and it’s troubles. But honestly…I could go without riding. My horses give me all of those feelings without me having to be in the saddle. So, I ride because I’m blessed enough to have a sound and able horse. And when the day comes when he’s not able, I’ll be fine then, too.

I ride because of Red.
1 thought on “Blog Hop!”

Leave a Reply

