Liberty &…Free Jumping (on accident…)

So, awhile back (way back in the winter.) my cousin-in-law sent me a link to a contest for Horses of Tennessee. The winners horses’ are chosen for a painting by a woman named Karen Brenner. I entered Red just for fun and didn’t expect to hear back…but he was one of the winners. šŸ™‚ The lady came out yesterday to take photos of him, meet him and get ideas. She asked if he would run around the pasture, and I was thankful that I had a horse that was fairly trained with liberty, lol. I grabbed my whip so I could cue him better and sent him off. It was honestly probably one of the best liberty sessions we’ve had. He worked with my body language perfectly and really got into it. He even bucked and reared a few times, playing with Stormie. We went to the bottom pasture where he had more room to safely go at it. He kept in a large circle around me and never asked to get away or run off uncontrollably, and listened to me so well when I asked him to switch directions or come closer and join up.

About as high-energy as he gets, lol.

Stormie joined in as well, and Jubilee even galloped down the hill to us but after that she was tired and decided to just stand next to me for the majority of the time while the other two ran. Red was as high-energy as I’ve ever seen him, but he was very respectful of my space at the same time. He definitely needed to get out some energy. I was happy I had brought my camera and was able to take a few shots, it’s not often that they go running like this.

After about 10 minutes, I asked Red to come back around and join up to keep him in a good mindset. He broke right out of his little crowhop spree and came over, followed me, then I let him move off again.

Coming back around to me, I let him canter over but he stopped a few feet away then walked slowly.
Standing quietly and waiting for my cue for him to move off or come. šŸ™‚ He barely broke a sweat. It was a nice evening for it, way cooler than it has been.

And then, he opted to go around the wood area and he did something I was totally not expecting. We’d had storms the last two days, and they knocked over a few branches. There was a pretty thick limb laying on the ground propped up about 3 and a half feet off the ground, and he cantered right up to it, paced himself well, and cleared it like it was no big deal.

What the heck, Red.

Going over! (SO MAD that those bushes are in the way. you can just barely see his nice little tuck.)
Landing. šŸ™‚
Back into a trot!

Mom and I were both kind of surprised that he went over it so easily. It was a fairly big jump off of the ground for a horse that’s probably never jumped in his life. I think when our arena is set up, we’ll maybe play around with some free jumping so he can choose to jump or not. We’ll see what the big fatty’s got. He seemed to enjoy it yesterday, so at the very least it could give him a fun side hobby šŸ˜‰

I asked him to slow back down then and join up, we walked back up together and he went to grazing again. Love this guy. šŸ™‚ I got more photos but I think I’ll save them for later.

Once it cools down and these storms blow over we’ll be back to riding. šŸ™‚ I ordered our new hack so I’m excited.

2 thoughts on “Liberty &…Free Jumping (on accident…)”

Leave a Reply

