English Time!

For the last few months, I’ve started wanting to get into english more and more. Most of y’all know that I’ve tried it a few times and ended up not going with it for various reasons – number 1 was I had no time to practice and work with it, number 2 was the saddle didn’t fit right. But, I keep dreaming of trying it again. I put a few ads up, looking for a good all-purpose or dressage saddle, and offered to trade one of my two saddles I had for sale. I finally found a winner, an 18 inch (seat size runs small) St. Charles jumping saddle. It’s absolutely beautiful, with a wide tree, in great shape. We made a deal and I’m probably picking it up tomorrow. All I’ll need to get is some stirrup leathers. It comes with a 54″ girth, not sure what size I’ll need for Red…any ideas? Pretty sure he wears a 36″ western.

I really loved English when I tried it the last few times, and I’ve had some discussions with a few friends about it and they all think I would have a nice seat for it, plus I’ve got two good horses for it. Red and Stormie are both great english.

So now…throw the beginning tips my way. 😉

4 thoughts on “English Time!”

  1. I learned to ride western but I tried English and now I love it! It’s my favorite. So for tips, learn to post good. Practice that lots. And learn to post on the correct diagonal. I’m sure you’ll do amazing at it though! Can’t wait to see pics!

    Like

  2. The tips I left for you in another post are relatable to English riding.

    The main differences between riding English VS Western are (can’t you tell I like lists? LOL):

    1. The gaits – in English, your horse’s gait will be bigger, have more presence and probably be less comfortable in the beginning. Additionally, instead of sitting a jog, you will now be posting a trot. If you Youtube “posting the trot” you’ll be able to find some good info.

    2. Contact – traditionally speaking, there is more contact on the horse’s mouth, but in a beginner situation I wouldn’t apply this just yet.

    3. Little to no neck-reining – a lot of the rein useage in English is with direct rein or supporting rein.

    Remember to sit tall, stretch your heels down, and relax!

    Like

Leave a Reply

