Contentment Problem

A couple weeks ago, I posted about commitment. Today, I’m going to post about contentment…and let y’all in on a little secret. πŸ˜‰

I had a contentment problem. And it was actually fairly bad and effecting my life/horsemanship.

I know a lot of horse people around here now, I’ve made my rounds around here and I’ve been able to meet a lot of people. I’m so thankful for 99% of them. I’ve ridden with them, gotten horses from them (Jubilee…and hmmm…another mare? Y’all will see soon.) and made great friends. But then there are some that I’ve gotten to know fairly well, and honestly, they’ve infuriated me. I’m not a person that you can anger quickly, I try to let things go as much as possible and stay out of things if it’s going to make me mad. But there’s a few things I can’t stand, that just made me mad. One of them isΒ  horse owners with no respect for the horse, and the other is horse riders who just want to ride to look good. It’s all about them. The horse may be head-bobbing lame,Β  but you bet they’ll take him to the next race because they’ve gotta look good. The horse may have his issues, but they can fix it by themselves because “they know what they’re doing!!” when all they’re doing is putting on ill-fitting tack, and trying to fix a horse by using gimmicks. I see these people get new tack, new trailers, new horses, almost every weekend. They get to do what I’ve worked hard for, what I’ve sweated my butt off for, for the past few years. I’ve gotten maybe an inch closer, then shut down. Roping, getting a way to haul, it’s not an option right now. And I let that bug me majorly.

I kept wanting to yell at everyone and tell them that I have a really, really good horse. I’m ready, Red’s ready. We’ve got this. Why am I being held back? Newsflash, I’m young. I can’t go by myself, so I need people to back me. Why haven’t I been able to? I hid my feelings pretty well, but honestly, it was depressing me. It made me not even want to try because..why? I’m not getting closer. Meanwhile, the people I know (and I do know them well.) are being major jerks and still getting everything.

Text break because pony has some nice hair.

And all of a sudden, I had this abrupt realization.

I may not be able to take lessons weekly like a lot of y’all, or show every weekend some months. I may not be able to afford a $3,000 saddle and go out and prove not even myself, but my horse and I, and prove to people that we have what it takes, in front of a crowd. But I’ve got the best horse I’ve met. And believe it or not, even though he’s had a rough,interesting life at some parts, he’s an amazing, hard working horse. He tries so hard, whether we’re roping, out on the trails or doing boring flat-work. No matter what, I always have him by my side (quite literally. He’s a puppy.) and I wouldn’t trade it. One day, we’ll prove those people that hard work pays off. But I’m too busy learning it myself right now. Even if I’m the only one to see it in us, the potential, at least I see it, and I know Red see’s it. We know our limits, but we also know our potential.

I just hope that eventually, we get our chance out there, too. πŸ˜‰

Corny picture FTW
3 thoughts on “Contentment Problem”

  1. You certainly will get your chance.

    Just be patient – all good things come to those who wait πŸ™‚ I didn’t become a horse owner until 2013, when I was 20.

    Like

  2. That’s kind of life, my friend.

    There is always going to be someone out there with the newer tack and a more expensive horse and an unlimited show budget.

    I’ve learned to be thankful for what I have, work my butt off every single day, and never take any of it for granted, not even for a moment. Life can change in a blink of an eye. One day you’ll realize that all the things that seemed SOOOO important just aren’t…

    You’ve got your horse, hang on to him and never let go.

    Like

  3. I get irritated at those things too, but in the end, your love of your horse and your dedication will pay off. Already the connection you seem to have with Red is amazing and is much better than those people you describe will ever have with their horses. I believe in you and that you can accomplish your goals!

    Like

Leave a Reply

