Bareback Ride

I haven’t been on Red bareback….in quite awhile. I’ve sat on him a few times and walked around, but wouldn’t really consider it a ride. I’ve ridden him with just a halter once, maybe twice, before and he was always very strong and heavy in it. And considering he hasn’t been ridden that often in the last few months, I haven’t really been comfortable doing either of those things. But yesterday I apparently felt crazy, and hooked a lead to his halter and climbed in the bed of our truck and got on. (Judge me. We don’t have a mounting block and this shorty can’t get on her horse without some help lol)

Moseying down the trail.

His buddies were stalled/in the round pen, so I had taken him away from them. This is also the time of day where he normally takes a good run around the pasture and rolls and bucks and plays with Spirit (he is very happy after dinner time.) so I was kind of expecting him to be barn sour and unhappy to be ridden.

Nope.

He was perfect. And he listened to the halter really really well, just like I had his hack on if not better. He responds very well to light touches and aids. Big change from last time I tried to do something like this. We walk/trotted, didn’t worry about any type of work, just went around and had fun and we both enjoyed ourselves. I was only on for 15 minutes maybe, but regardless of time it was a good little ride.

I don’t give Red enough credit. He’s a really great guy.

1 thought on “Bareback Ride”

Leave a Reply

